Although the overall Junior Rally title was settled in the previous round, there are still 2 titles up for grabs as the Junior 1000 rally championship travels down to Pembrey this weekend.


The scoring system across all championships allows dropped scores as the competitors are able to pick their top 6 scores to make up their total points.  All of the challengers have low scores to swap out for any better results for the last 3 rounds, making this weekend crucial for both titles.



The new Rookie Cup has been a close battle all season between Elliott Payne, Rob Wilson and Ioan LLoyd with Elliott currently sitting on top of the table by 9 points.  Ioan Lloyd started the season with a bang by winning the first round, but since then, Elliott has walked away as the top rookie 4 out of the last 5 rounds.  Only a mechanical issue at the Solway Coast rally stopped a clean sweep of wins as Sam Adams took the honors.  Elliott was also close to the overall title, but nothing was going to stop Ewan Tindalls rise to champion after he won all 6 rounds.  Rob Wilson will need to finish ahead of Payne in order to keep his hopes alive, while Ioan Lloyd needs to win the next 2 rounds and Payne and Wilson to not finish another rally.  But all of this would be irrelevant if Elliott can finish in at least 3rd position and get the points needed to finish the season as top rookie.



The second title still up fro grabs is the Lewis Reporting Pre ’03 Trophy which is for the cars registered before 2003 (basically the Nissan Micra’s).  This championship has also been a close battle between Ioan Lloyd, Steven Jones and Rob Wilson, with Wilson becoming the dominant force by winning 4 of the 6 rounds so far this season.  He currently has an 11 point lead over Lloyd and Hughes, with Lloyd the only other driver who can steal the title away this season.  However, Ioan would need win the next 2 rounds and Wilson not to finish another rally.


The championship also welcomes 2 new drivers to the club this weekend as Jonathan Davies and Joseph Palmer both enter their first ever rally in a 107 and Micra respectively.


The overall winner of round 7 is likely to be between Tom Llewellin, Tom Rawlings, James Hall and Elliott Payne this weekend.  Llewellin finally won a junior rally in the last round and will head down to his local track in confident mood.  Rawlings will also be looking to challenge after a gearbox issue put him out of contention in the 1st stage at the last round.  Another driver to keep your eyes on is Eddie Lewis, who since switching back to his C1, has been getting quicker and quicker.  He was set for a podium in the last round, only for a gearbox issue to force him to retire from the rally.  He was also close to a podium the last time the championship traveled to Pembrey, only to be stopped by another mechanical issue.  He will want to get his hands on silverware before the end of the season.


Here is a full list of the entry list:

Seed Driver Co-Driver Car
#61 Llewellin Tom Morgan Paul Peugeot 107
#62 Payne Elliot Rogers Simon Citroën C1
#63 Rawlings Thomas Gilbert Alan Citroën C1
#64 Hall James Bradley Simon Citroën C1
#65 Lewis Edward Davies Elgan Citroën C1
#66 Wilson Robert Haggett Martin Nissan Micra
#67 Adams Sam Bushe Andrew Škoda Citigo Sport
#68 Banks Riley Jude Mike Peugeot 107
#69 Lloyd Ioan Jackson Jonathan Nissan Micra
#70 Jones Steven Brierley Christopher Nissan Micra
#71 Fowler-Bishop Dylan Mosley Vince Nissan Micra
#72 Davies Jonathan Taylor Lee Peugeot 107
#73 Palmer Joseph Pritchard Jason Nissan Micra