The 2017 Junior 1000 Rally championship is now drawing to a close with only 3 rounds to go.  The next round at the Patriot Stages in Caerwent, could see the winner of this years title if Ewan Tindall can finish in the top 5 places.  Something that on paper should be straight forward as Ewan has won every stage rally this year (5) and also clinched the Scottish title last weekend.


Tindall & Hudson claim their 5th win of the season at Solway

However, stage rallying isn’t competed for on paper and this round is at the challenging Caerwent military base with it’s mile of  magnetic, suspension crunching kerbs.  Several other drivers have been hot on Ewan’s heels all season, but just not able to find the extra pace and consistency to take a win, leaving Tindall with a massive points advantage over the field.


Welshman Tom Llewellin, Tom Rawlings, James Hall and Rookie Elliot Payne have all shown fantastic pace all season and come away with most of the podiums this year.  All of them are hungry to take a maiden rally win and keep their slim championship hopes alive.  With Ewan only needing a high points score to win the title, this could be an excellent opportunity for his competitors, although he took with Scottish title with a win, so could look to finish in style.


Young Elliott Payne has been a particular stand out performer in his first year of rallying and currently leads the Rookie Cup, but by only 3 points from fellow rookie Rob Wilson, who has also done extremely well to compete in his older Micra. Wilson is also locked in a great battle with Steven Jones and Ioan Lloyd for the Lewis Reporting Pre ’03 Trophy (for cars registered before 2003).  Wilson has dominated the last 4 rounds and could also take a big step in claiming this title with another class win at Caerwent.


Eddie Lewis has been charging forward in his rebuilt C1, and set one of the fastest stage times when the juniors visited the Caerwent stages earlier in the year.  Eddie will be looking claim his first podium place before the season closes.  The club will field another strong field of 14 cars in the rally


Here is the full seeded entry list:


Seed Driver Co-Driver Car
86 Ewan Tindall Paul Hudson C1
87 Elliot Payne Simon John Rogers C1
88 Tom Llewellin Ross Whittock 107
89 Thomas Rawlings Alan Gilbert C1
90 James Hall Simon Bradley C1
91 Rob Wilson Martin Haggett Micra
92 Ioan Lloyd Dai Roberts Micra
93 Edward Lewis TBA C1
94 Sam Adams Andrew Bushe Citigo Sport
95 Dylan Fowler-Bishop Tudor Jenkins Micra
96 Lwi Price Edwards Keegan Rees 107
97 Rob Cotton Chris Williams Micra
98 Steven Jones Christopher Brierley Micra
99 Riley Banks Mike Jode 107


Full information and regulations are available by CLICKING HERE