pembreyAs a capacity entry of 18 Juniors head to Pembrey, South Wales for round 7 of the KickStart Formula 1000 championship, its now win or bust time for several of the championship hopefuls.  With only 3 rounds left of the season Peter Bennett has established a solid lead after top 2 finishes in 5 of the 6 rallies this season.  However, his lead looks set to be reduced after a disappointing result last time out at Caerwent and already choosing to miss the Peter Lloyd Stages as his non scoring round of the season.  Also missing is Ewan Tindall as he diverts his attention to the Scottish championship for the final time this season.


McErlean, Hughes and Llewellin all need to win

McErlean, Hughes and Llewellin all need to win

Looking to capatalise on Bennett and Tindalls absence is Zak Hughes, Tom Llewellin and Josh McErlean.   After coming 2nd in the 2015 championship, Hughes only has his eyes set on the title this time around and after winning 2 of the last 3 rallies, he and his trusty C1 are in red hot form. Plus he won the Peter Lloyd stage rally in 2015, making him the favorite for another winners trophy this time.

Tom Llewellin finished 2nd in the last round and moved himself up the championship leader board and within striking distance to Bennett.  He’ll need to start winning events if he hopes to close the gap to Bennett and title glory.

After an exclusion in round 6, McErlean makes the trip over from Northern Ireland knowing that only a win will do to keep his championship hopes alive.


Another driver looking to continue his great form is Thomas Rawlings after claiming a break through podium place in the last round.  After some difficult early rallies this season, Rawlings is now showing the natural driving talent that crowned him Welsh Karting Champion.  If he can stay out of trouble and continue his pace, he could very easily find himself on the podium once again.  Another driver with impressive pace last time out was Alex Tentori.  After pushing Meadows all the way in round 6 to just miss out on finishing highest Micra, the 17 teen years old’s lack of experience is certainly not holding back his pace.


The championship also welcomes new members Robert Billingham and  Welsh kart driver Ioan Lloyd.  After recently acquiring his Micra, nicknamed “Morris”, Ioan is set to take to the stages for the first time after completing the MSA training steps and getting his rally license license.

The next round will also see the debut of the new Lewis Reporting “Pre ’03 Trophy” which is open to all cars registered before 2003.  With a healthy entry of 9 Nissan Micra’s for this round, the competition is going to be very intense.  Tommi Meadows is the most experienced driver eligable for Trophy, but the likes of Alex Tentori, Alex Holliday, Ellie Williams and Dylan Fowler-Bishop will all be fighting for stage wins.  Ellie Williams is back in the driver seat after impressing in round 2 with an excellent 7th place finish at the Anglesey stages earlier in the year.


With a mixture of perfectly smooth track tarmac and tight, bumpy single lanes over some very long demanding stages, the Peter Lloyd Stage rally will be a great challenge for all of the drivers.  The championship table will start reflecting dropped scores after this round, so we’ll get a much clearer understanding of who the best drivers this season are:


If you’d like to come along and spectate, tickets are available at Pembrey Circuit on Sunday for the all day event starting at 9am.


Here is the Final seedings list:

61 Josh McErlean
62 Zak Hughes
63 Tom Llewellin
64 Tommi Meadows
65 Tom Rawlings
66 Alex Tentori
67 James Hall
68 Dylan Fowler-Bishop
69 Adam Ripper
70 Ellie Williams
71 Edward Lewis
72 Alex Holliday
73 George Sheard
74 Riley Banks
75 Lwi Price-Edwards
76 Steven Jones
77 Ioan Lloyd
78 Robert Billingham


All information and regulations for the rally can be found HERE.

Final Entry List can be found HERE: